We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), the statutory framework that sets the standards for Learning, Development and Care for children aged 0 to 5 years old. The EYFS promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and allows for a wonderfully broad range of knowledge and skills that support positive progress through school and life.

At Miss Daisy’s we ensure that from the moment your child joins us, their early years experience is happy, active, engaging, fun and secure. We support at all times their development, care and learning needs.

How will my child be learning at Miss Daisy’s Nursery?

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through the 7 areas of learning and development. The prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas.

Prime Areas

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development.

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Expressive Arts and Design
  • Understanding the World

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. Your child’s teacher will make sure that the activities are tailored to your child’s unique needs. Unlike the Primary and Secondary Schools curriculum, the EYFS is suitable for very young children and is designed to be flexible. This allows our teachers to closely follow the individual needs and interests of each child.

Children at Miss Daisy’s learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

To ensure the children receive a broad curriculum at Miss Daisy’s we have specialist teachers including, Sport, Music and Drama who visit weekly to teach the children.

What to expect in the Early Years? Click here to view the EYFS Guide for Parents provided by the Department for Education.